LAFCO MEMORANDUM

SANTA BARBARA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION 105 East Anapamu Street • Santa Barbara CA 93101 • (805) 568-3391 • Fax (805) 568-2249

December 12, 2019 (Agenda)

TO:Each Member of the CommissionFROM:Paul HoodExecutive Officer

SUBJECT: Report on 2019 CALAFCO Board Elections

This is an Informational Report. No Action is Necessary

The 2019 CALAFCO Board of Directors Election were held at the CALAFCO Conference Coastal Regional Caucus meeting on Thursday, October 31, 2019. The Commission will recall that Regular City Member Etta Waterfield was nominated by Santa Barbara LAFCO. The CALAFCO Election Committee Report is attached as **Exhibit A**.

Unfortunately, Commissioner Waterfield was not elected to the City seat. Incumbent Board member Margie Mohler, from the City of Napa, was re-elected to a new two-year term.

EXHIBIT

Exhibit A 2019 CALAFCO Election Committee Report

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions.



30 September, 2019

TO Regional Representatives and Member LAFCos

FROM Shiva Frentzen, Committee Chair CALAFCO Election Committee

RE Election Committee Report for 2019 CALAFCO Board Elections

In accordance with the CALAFCO Bylaws and Nomination and Election Procedures, the CALAFCO Election Committee has solicited nominations for the regional election of the eight open director positions on the CALAFCO Board of Directors. The elections will be conducted in regional caucuses to be held at the annual conference on Thursday, October 31, 2019 from 8:00 to 8:45 a.m. Any seat not filled through the regional caucus election process in accordance with CALAFCO Bylaws will be filled through an at-large election for one term at the Annual Meeting on Thursday, October 31, 2019, beginning at 9:00 a.m.

Attached is a list of the candidates nominated within each of the four regions (Northern, Central, Coastal and Southern) for their respective city, county, special district and public member seats. Nominations from the floor will also be solicited during the caucus election process. All terms are two years.

Those member LAFCos not in attendance at the annual meeting may vote by electronic ballot in advance of the meeting. They may only vote for those candidates nominated by the Election Committee and listed on the ballot.

Pursuant to Section 4.2.2 of the CALAFCO Bylaws, the Board has determined that a quorum of a region's LAFCos must be present during the caucus election. In the event that less than 50% of a region's LAFCos are present in the regional caucus (including electronic ballots) to vote for the purpose of filling an open director position, it becomes at-large for one term and shall be elected at the Annual Meeting.

The CALAFCO Election Committee has confirmed that all nominations were complete and received by the final filing date of September 30, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. We received nominations for all vacant seats.

Copies of the nomination forms and resumes of all candidates within your region are attached and are posted on the CALAFCO website in the Members section at: www.calafco.org. All nominations and resumes will also be posted at the annual conference near the registration desk.

cc: CALAFCO Board of Directors

NOMINATIONS FOR THE 2019 BOARD OF DIRECTORS ELECTIONS

Seat	Nominee	LAFCo
NORTHERN REGION		
County	Dan Miller	Nevada
	Bill Connelly*	Butte
District	Kurt Grundel	Nevada
	David Couch	Humboldt
		F
City	Daniel Parra*	Fresno
Public	Anita Paque*	Calaveras
FUDIC	Anita Faque	Calaveras
COASTAL REGION		
City	Margie Mohler*	Napa
ony	lan Oglesby	Monterey
	Etta Waterfield	Santa Barbara
		Santa Barbara
Public	Tom Murray	San Luis Obispo
	David Ross	Ventura
SOUTHERN REGION		
County	Michael Kelley*	Imperial
	,	•
District	Kimberly Cox	San Bernardino
	Jo MacKenzie*	San Diego

* incumbent