LAFCO

Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission

105 East Anapamu Street ◆ Santa Barbara CA 93101 805/568-3391 ◆ FAX 805/647-7647 www.sblafco.org ◆ lafco@sblafco.org

July 7, 2011 (Agenda)

Local Agency Formation Commission 105 East Anapamu Street, Room 403 Santa Barbara CA 93101

Nomination to CALAFCO Board of Directors

Dear Members of the Commission:

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the Commission consider nominating Roger Welt for election to the CALAFCO Board of Directors.

DISCUSSION

Due to changes approved last year, four members of the CALAFCO Board of Directors are selected from the Coastal Region, which is comprised of 14 counties including Santa Barbara. The LAFCOs in the Coastal Region select a City member, County member, Public member and Special District member to sit on the 16 member CALAFCO Board.

The enclosed mailing from CALAFCO notes that nominations are now open for election to Board of Directors. The two open positions for the Coastal Region are the City Member and the Public Member. The election will take place during the regional caucuses at the CALAFCO Conference in Napa County.

Susan Vicklund Wilson from Santa Clara LAFCO is the current Public Member on the Board from the Coastal Region. We are advised she is interested in continuing to serve but only if there is no other public member from the region interested in the position. She has served on CALAFCO Board for the last eight years. While she is excited for another term, she feels it is important that others have an opportunity to serve if they are interested.

Alternate Public Member Roger Welt has expressed interest in serving on the CALAFCO Board. Should the Commission agree, the process is for the Chair to complete the attached nomination form which together with a letter of recommendation must be received by the CALAFCO Recruitment Committee not later than August 2.

Nomination to the CALAFCO Board of Directors July 7, 2011 (Agenda) Page 2

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Very truly yours,

BOB BRAITMAN Executive Officer