Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission

Santa Barbara



Commissioner Roger Aceves, Chair Commissioner Craig Geyer Commissioner Joan Hartmann, Alternate Commissioner Judith Ishkanian, Alternate Commissioner Steve Lavagnino Commissioner Jeff Moorhouse Commissioner Jeff Moorhouse Commissioner Jim Richardson Commissioner Shane Stark, Alternate Commissioner Etta Waterfield, Alternate Commissioner Roger Welt, Vice-Chair Commissioner Janet Wolf

Minutes

Thursday, August 3, 2017 1:00 PM

COUNTY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING BOARD OF SUPERVISORS HEARING ROOM, FOURTH FLOOR 105 EAST ANAPAMU STREET, SANTA BARBARA

Note: The Commission's regular meeting schedule shows this meeting at the Betteravia Government Center in Santa Maria with remote participation at Santa Barbara. Broadcast of this proceeding and testimony will still be available in Santa Maria; however, the Chair and Staff for this meeting will be in Santa Barbara.

Meetings, Agendas, Supplemental Materials and Minutes of the Local Agency Formation Commission are available on the Internet: <u>www.sblafco.org</u>

1:00 P.M Convened to Regular Session		
Roll Call	Present:	8 – Commissioner Aceves, Commissioner Geyer, Commissioner Ishkanian, Commissioner Moorhouse, Commissioner Stark, Commissioner Richardson, Commissioner Waterfield and Commissioner Wolf
	Absent:	3 – Commissioner Hartmann, Commissioner Lavagnino and Commissioner Welt
Pledge of Allegiance		
Approval of Minutes of the June 1, 2017 Regular Meeting		
	A motion was made by Commissioner Wolf, seconded by Commissioner Geyer, to approve the Minutes.	
	The motion carried by the following vote:	
	Ayes:	5 – Commissioner Aceves, Commissioner Geyer, Commissioner Moorhouse, Commissioner Stark and Commissioner Wolf
	Abstain:	1 – Commissioner Richardson

Public Comment Period

There were no requests to speak.

Consent Calendar

- 1) Receive and file a report on Disbursements for May, June, and July 2017.
- 2) Receive and file the 2016-2017 Year-End Report.

A motion was made by Commissioner Wolf, seconded by Commissioner Lavagnino, to approve the Consent Calendar.

The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 6 – Commissioner Aceves, Commissioner Geyer, Commissioner Moorhouse, Commissioner Richardson, Commissioner Stark and **Commissioner Wolf**

Business Items

1) Consider Making Nominations to the 2017/2018 CALAFCO Board of Directors.

No action taken.

2) Consider Making Nominations for the 2017 CALAFCO Achievement Awards and provide direction to staff.

No action taken.

3) Consider adoption of a position on Senate Bill 448 (Wieckowski) and provide direction to staff on the Little Hoover Commission.

A motion was made by Commissioner Stark, seconded by Commissioner Moorhouse, to amend the Commission's previous position and take a support position on Senate Bill 448 (Wieckowski).

The motion carried by the following vote:

- Ayes:6 Commissioner Aceves, Commissioner Geyer, Commissioner
Moorhouse, Commissioner Richardson, Commissioner Stark and
Commissioner Wolf
- 4) Receive and file a report on the results of the protest hearing on the Formation of the Los Olivos Community Services District.

No action taken.

Information Items

1) Receive and file a report on the CALAFCO Legislative Committee meeting that was held on June 23, 2017.

Received and filed.

2) Receive and file a report on the 2017 CALAFCO Annual Conference in San Diego, October 25-27, 2017 and provide direction to staff as necessary.

Received and filed.

Commissioner and Staff Announcements

1) Commissioner announcements and requests for future agenda items.

No action taken.

2) Executive Officer's comments.

No action taken.

Adjourned at 1:38 PM

Adjourned to

Thursday, September 7, 2017

<u>County Administration Building</u> <u>Board of Supervisors Hearing Room, Fourth Floor</u> <u>105 East Anapamu Street, Santa Barbara</u>

<u>Materials Submitted After Distribution of Packet</u> - Materials related to an item on this agenda submitted after distribution of the agenda packet will be available for public inspection during normal business hours in the Santa Barbara County Clerk to the Board's Office, Fourth Floor, 105 East Anapamu Street, Santa Barbara. Such documents will also available on the Commission website, <u>www.sblafco.org.</u> subject to the ability to post the documents prior to the meeting.

<u>Notice of Disability Accommodations</u> - Persons with a disability who require any disability-related modification or accommodation, including auxiliary aids or services, in order to participate in the meeting are asked to contact the LAFCO office at least three (3) days prior to the meeting by telephone at 805-568-3391 or by email at <u>lafco@sblafco.org</u>.

<u>Remote Participation</u>. Members of the public and Commissioners may participate in person or by using the remote video testimony system located at the County Administration Building, Board Hearing Room, Fourth Floor, 105 East Anapamu Street, in Santa Barbara or at the Betteravia Government Center, Board of Supervisors' Conference Room, 511 East Lakeside Parkway, Santa Maria. Persons may address the Commission on any matter listed on the agenda by completing and delivering to the Clerk a speaker slip before the item is considered. Matters not listed on the agenda may be addressed during the public comment period at the conclusion of the administrative agenda. Further information on agenda items can be obtained in the Clerk of the Board Office, Room 407, in the County Administration Building in Santa Barbara.