LAFCO

Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission

105 East Anapamu Street ◆ Santa Barbara CA 93101 805/568-3391 ◆ FAX 805/647-2249 www.sblafco.org ◆ lafco@sblafco.org

September 10, 2015 (Agenda)

Local Agency Formation Commission 105 East Anapamu Street Santa Barbara CA 93101

Appointment of Members to a Standing Committee on Legislation

Dear Members of the Commission:

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended the Commission Appoint Three Commissioners to a Standing Committee on Legislation.

DISCUSSION

On July 2, 2015, the Commission adopted Resolution 15-4 (Exhibit A) approving the creation of a Standing Committee on Legislation.

Commission Budget and Financial Procedures specify members of standing committees are eligible to receive a stipend of \$150 for attending committee meetings. Based on four meetings a year as set forth in the resolution, the additional cost could be \$1,800. This amount would be paid from the Final Budget that was approved by the Commission at the May 7, 2015 meeting. This assumes all clerking of the Committee is done by the Executive Officer and not the Clerk.

Exhibits:

Exhibit A Resolution No. 15-4 Establishing the Legislative Standing Committee

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

PAUL HOOD Executive Officer

Paul Hood

RESOLUTION OF THE LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION OF THE COUNTY OF SANTA BARBARA

In the matter of establishing the Legislative Standing Committee of the Commission

Resolution No. 15-4

WHEREAS, the Local Agency Formation Commission ("Commission") is responsible for overseeing and administering the Cortese Knox Hertzberg Act, Government Code section 56000 et seq. within Santa Barbara County.

WHEREAS, the Commission is required as part of its duties to be intimately familiar with the Cortese Knox Hertzberg Act, which is a complex and intricate statute with many nuances and subtleties.

WHEREAS, each year many amendments are proposed to the Act that often raise important policy and legal issues that concern Santa Barbara County and therefore require review by the Commission and, as needed, the adoption of positions of support or opposition to the proposed legislation.

WHEREAS, the Commission's regular monthly meetings are not always sufficient to allow the Commission to be fully briefed on and understand all important legislative proposals.

WHEREAS, the Commission now wishes to establish a standing committee that will meet to review legislative proposals of concern to the Commission and report to the Commission as necessary.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED that:

- 1. The Commission hereby establishes the Legislative Committee as a Standing Committee of the Commission.
- 2. The Legislative Committee shall consist of three members appointed by the Commission.

 Only members of the Commission, including alternates, may be members of the Legislative

Committee. The Commission will make appointments to the Legislative Committee at the first regular meeting of the Commission each calendar year.

3. The Legislative Committee shall be staffed by the Executive Officer and, as necessary,

Counsel.

4. The Legislative Committee shall be a standing committee that shall comply with all

requirements of the Ralph M. Brown Act, Government Code section 54950 et seg., including open

meetings, agenda and notice requirements.

5. The Commission will annually establish or include in a regular budget an item a budget for

the Legislative Committee. Committee members shall be eligible for reimbursement of allowable

expenses, as authorized by the Commissioners' Handbook,

Rule 9, but only to the extent such funds are available in the unexpended line item budget revenue of

the Commission.

PASSED AND ADOPTED this 2nd day of July, by the following vote, in Santa Maria.

California.

AYES:

Commissioner Aceves, Farr, Geyer, Moorhouse, Orach and Wolf

NOES:

None

ABSENT: None

ABSTAIN: None

Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission

ATTEST

acquelyne Alexander, Clerk

Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission

alexander

Approved as to Form:

Deputy County Counsel