LAFCO

Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission

105 East Anapamu Street ◆ Santa Barbara CA 93101 805/568-3391 ◆ FAX 805/647-7647 www.sblafco.org ◆ lafco@sblafco.org

June 7, 2007 (Agenda)

Local Agency Formation Commission 105 East Anapamu Street Santa Barbara CA 93101

Selection of Commission Officers for Remainder of 2007

Dear Members of the Commission:

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that Commission Joe Centeno be selected as Chair and that one of the Special District members be selected as Vice Chair to serve until February 2008.

DISCUSSION

Commissioner Bernie Stableford was selected as Chair and Commissioner Joe Centeno as Vice Chair to serve from February 2006 to February 2007. Unfortunately it became necessary for Commissioner Stableford to resign from the Commission before her term as Chair was completed.

The Commission's Rules and Procedures provide the following policy for selecting officers:

<u>Selection of Officers</u> -- The members of the Commission shall elect a Chair and Vice Chair at the first meeting of the Commission held in February of each year or as soon thereafter as practicable.

The Chair and Vice Chair shall serve for one-year terms, with the Vice Chair automatically assuming the Chair at the end of the term. Officers shall be selected from the categories of members in the following order: Public, County, Special District and City.

Based on the order of rotation set forth in the Rules and Procedures a Special District Member should be selected to serve as Vice Chair for the remainder of 2007.

Sincerely,

BOB BRAITMAN Executive Officer