## LAFCO MEMORANDUM

SANTA BARBARA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION
105 East Anapamu Street • Santa Barbara CA 93101 • (805) 568-3391 • Fax (805) 568-2249

January 3, 2019

TO: Each Member of the Commission

FROM: Paul Hood PLH

**Executive Officer** 

SUBJECT: Review of Pending Commissioner Elections/Appointments

This is an Informational Report. No Action is Necessary

## **DISCUSSION**

The November 6, 2018, Election and retirements resulted in several pending changes on the Commission. There are now vacancies for one Regular County Member, one Regular City Member, one Regular Special District Member and one Alternate Special District Member.

The Board of Supervisors will appoint a Regular County Member. Since the term of the retired County Member expires on March 1, 2019, the appointment to replace the Regular County Member will most likely take place towards the end on February 2019. The Alternate County Member will sit on the Commission until then. In the event that the current Alternate County Member is appointed, the Board of Supervisors will make a second appointment to complete the unexpired term of the Alternate that expires on March 1, 2022.

The City Selection Committee, comprised of the Mayors or designed Council Member of the each of the eight cities in Santa Barbara County, will meet to select a replacement for the Regular City Member. Since the term of the Regular City Member expires on March 1, 2019, the appointment will most likely take place towards the end of February 2019. The Alternate City Member will sit on the Commission until a replacement is selected. In the event that the current Alternate City Member is appointed, the City Selection Committee will make a second appointment to complete the unexpired term of the Alternate that expires on March 1, 2020. Generally, the City Selection Committee meets during Santa Barbara Council of Governments or Santa Barbara Air Pollution Control Board monthly meeting. The Mayors are members of both Boards.

Lastly, the Special District Selection Committee, comprised of the presiding officers, or designee, of the 38 independent special districts in Santa Barbara County, need to elect one Regular and one Alternate LAFCO Special District member. The unexpired terms are March 1, 2022 and March 1, 2020 respectively. The LAFCO Executive Officer can either call a meeting of the Special District Selection Committee or if the Executive Officer determine that a meeting of the selection committee is not feasible, conduct the committee's business by mail. There would be a nomination period, usually 60-days, followed by the delivery of ballots and voting instructions to each eligible district. Since the establishment of a quorum of the Committee has been problematic in the past, the mailed ballot process is the most efficient. This process could take an additional 60-days to complete. During the interim, LAFCO will operate with only one Regular Special District Member.

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions.