LAFCO

Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission

105 East Anapamu Street ◆ Santa Barbara CA 93101 805/568-3391 ◆ FAX 805/568-2249 www.sblafco.org ◆ lafco@sblafco.org

February 2, 2017 (Agenda)

Local Agency Formation Commission 105 East Anapamu Street Santa Barbara CA 93101

Consider Appointments to the 2017 Santa Barbara LAFCO Legislative Committee

Dear Members of the Commission

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the Commission Appoint Three (3) Commissioners to the 2017 Santa Barbara LAFCO Legislative Committee

DISCUSSION

At the July 2, 2015 meeting, the Commission adopted LAFCO Resolution No. 15-4 establishing the Santa Barbara LAFCO Legislative Committee (**Exhibit A**). The committee was established as a Standing Committee to review legislative proposals of concern to the Commission and to report to the Commission, as necessary.

The Commission appointed Commissioners Aceves, Farr, and Moorhouse to the 2016 Legislative Committee which, according to the minutes of the September 10, 2015 Commission meeting, will rotate annually by city, county, special district, and public members in January of each year (**Exhibit B**). It is important to note, that the resolution establishing the SBLAFCO Legislative Committee, does not include this rotation.

Exhibits

Exhibit A

Resolution No. 15-4

Exhibit B

Minutes of the September 10, 2015 Commission Meeting (Business Item 2)

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

PAUL HOOD Executive Officer

Pant +

RESOLUTION OF THE LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION OF THE COUNTY OF SANTA BARBARA

In the matter of establishing the Legislative Standing Committee of the Commission

Resolution No. 15-4

WHEREAS, the Local Agency Formation Commission ("Commission") is responsible for overseeing and administering the Cortese Knox Hertzberg Act, Government Code section 56000 et seq. within Santa Barbara County.

WHEREAS, the Commission is required as part of its duties to be intimately familiar with the Cortese Knox Hertzberg Act, which is a complex and intricate statute with many nuances and subtleties.

WHEREAS, each year many amendments are proposed to the Act that often raise important policy and legal issues that concern Santa Barbara County and therefore require review by the Commission and, as needed, the adoption of positions of support or opposition to the proposed legislation.

WHEREAS, the Commission's regular monthly meetings are not always sufficient to allow the Commission to be fully briefed on and understand all important legislative proposals.

WHEREAS, the Commission now wishes to establish a standing committee that will meet to review legislative proposals of concern to the Commission and report to the Commission as necessary.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED that:

- 1. The Commission hereby establishes the Legislative Committee as a Standing Committee of the Commission.
- 2. The Legislative Committee shall consist of three members appointed by the Commission.

 Only members of the Commission, including alternates, may be members of the Legislative

Committee. The Commission will make appointments to the Legislative Committee at the first regular meeting of the Commission each calendar year.

3. The Legislative Committee shall be staffed by the Executive Officer and, as necessary,

Counsel.

4. The Legislative Committee shall be a standing committee that shall comply with all

requirements of the Ralph M. Brown Act, Government Code section 54950 et seq., including open

meetings, agenda and notice requirements.

5. The Commission will annually establish or include in a regular budget an item a budget for

the Legislative Committee. Committee members shall be eligible for reimbursement of allowable

expenses, as authorized by the Commissioners' Handbook,

Rule 9, but only to the extent such funds are available in the unexpended line item budget revenue of

the Commission.

PASSED AND ADOPTED this 2nd day of July, by the following vote, in Santa Maria,

California.

AYES:

Commissioner Aceves, Farr, Geyer, Moorhouse, Orach and Wolf

NOES:

None

ABSENT: None

ABSTAIN: None

Dated:

Chair

Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission

ATTEST

Jacquelyne Alexander, Clerk

Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission

Approved as to Form:

Deputy County Counsel

b) Provide direction to staff regarding Assembly Bill 3 (Williams).

A motion was made by Commissioner Aceves, seconded by Commissioner Moorhouse, that this matter be acted on as follows:

- a) Received and filed; and
- b) Directed the Executive Officer to send a letter to the governor requesting a veto of AB-3 (Williams) and to request that CALAFCO do the same. Further requested that the Executive Officer include issues, as follows:
- i) Timeline;
- ii) Lack of LAFCO role in process as provided by law;
- iii) Lack of clarity due to inadequate financial analysis regarding tax rate and services to be funded as well as current and anticipated impacts on the community by the expansion of UCSB; and
- iv) That the Bill was not adequately vetted and thus of great concern to LAFCO.

The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 5 – Commissioner Aceves, Commissioner Fox, Commissioner

Moorhouse, Commissioner Orach and Commissioner Welt

Noes: 1 - Commissioner Wolf

2) Appoint three members of LAFCO to a Standing Committee on Legislation.

A motion was made by Commissioner Welt, seconded by Commissioner Wolf, to appoint Commissioner Aceves, Commissioner Farr and Commissioner Moorhouse to the Standing Committee on Legislation which will rotate annually by the city, county, special district and public members in January of each year.

The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 6 – Commissioner Aceves, Commissioner Geyer, Commissioner

Moorhouse, Commissioner Orach, Commissioner Welt and

Commissioner Wolf

3) Consider the LAFCO Ad Hoc Committee recommendation to appoint Stephen Shane Stark as the Alternate Public Member to LAFCO.