## SANTA BARBARA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING

## February 3, 2011

## Board of Supervisors Hearing Room Santa Maria, CA

- 1. Chair Bob Short called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.
- 2. Present were Commissioners Alvarez, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short and Wolf, nonvoting Alternate Commissioners Farr, Fox and Welt, Executive Officer Bob Braitman and Legal Counsel Bill Dillon. Nonvoting Alternate Commissioner Armendariz participated by remote connection from Santa Barbara.
- 3. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.
- 4. The Executive Officer noted the first "Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District" on page 3 is in error and should be deleted. Upon motion by Schlottmann, second by Orach, the minutes of the November 4, 2010 meeting were approved as corrected.

Ayes: Alvarez, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, Wolf

Noes: None Abstain: None

- 5. County Clerk Recorder Joe Holland administered individually the oaths of office to County member Doreen Farr and Alternate County member Steve Lavagnino.
- 6. After due consideration, upon motion by Alvarez, second by Wolf, the Commission selected Jeff Moorhouse as Vice Chair for a period to February 20012.

Ayes: Alvarez, Farr, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, Wolf

Noes: None Abstain: None

- 7. With appreciation to Bob Short for his term as Chair, Commissioner Wolf assumed her position as Chair of the Commission.
- 8. Public Comment Period

John Venable, representing Montecito Fire Protection District, discussed a presentation made by the Executive Officer to Montecito Rotary Club regarding property tax revenues allocated to local agencies in Montecito and recommended such presentations be prereviewed by the Commission.

9. 09-1 City of Goleta Detachment from the Goleta West Sanitary District – Confirmation of withdrawal of the application by the City of Goleta

The staff provided documentation that the City of Goleta has withdrawn its proposal to detach territory from the Goleta West Sanitary District.

Upon motion by Farr, second by Alvarez, the Commission received and filed the report.

Ayes: Alvarez, Farr, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, Wolf

Noes: None Abstain: None

10. Sphere of Influence of the Santa Rita Hills Community Services District

Testimony was provided by Patrick Morris representing the Cargasacchi family which owns land adjacent to and within the District and Chris Marks representing the Santa Rita Hills Community Services District.

After due consideration upon motion by Schlottmann, second by Alvarez, the Commission adopted the sphere of influence as recommended.

Ayes: Alvarez, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, Wolf

Noes: None Abstain: Farr

11. Sphere of Influence of the Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District Improvement District No. 1

Testimony was provided by Chris Dahlstrom representing the Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District, Improvement District No. 1.

After due consideration, upon motion Alvarez, second by Farr, the Commission continued this hearing to April 7 and directed staff to provide additional information regarding the "island" area and provide an opportunity for the District Board of Directors to review and comment on this matter.

Ayes: Alvarez, Farr, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, Wolf

Noes: None Abstain: None 12. Spheres of Influence for City of Santa Barbara, City of Guadalupe, Cachuma Resource Conservation District and Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District

Legal Counsel recommended each resolution be revised to exclude "as shown on the attached map labeled Exhibit A" because the spheres are not being changed and the maps are simply illustrative.

After due consideration, upon motion by Orach, second by Farr, the Commission confirmed the existing Spheres of Influence for these four agencies with the resolutions as modified.

Ayes: Alvarez, Farr, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, Wolf

Noes: None Abstain: None

13. Policy regarding time limit to process applications

The Commission received the staff report and accompanying letter from Steven Amerikaner representing Goleta West Sanitary District. The Chair directed staff to return in May with a draft policy regarding time limits to process proposals.

14. Commission meeting schedule for 2011

The Commission received the schedule of regular LAFCO meetings for 2011.

After due consideration, upon motion by Farr, second by Schlottmann, the Commission cancelled the September 1 and December 1 meetings due to conflicts with, respectively, the CALAFCO and County Supervisors Association conferences with the understanding special meetings can be called if needed.

Ayes: Alvarez, Farr, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, Wolf

Noes: None Abstain: None

## 15. Proposed LAFCO Budget

The staff presented the proposed budget. After due consideration, upon motion by Schlottmann, second by Farr, the Commission continued adoption of the proposed budget to the next meeting, will hold a closed session at that time to review its contract with Braitman & Associates and directed the final budget be considered at the May meeting.

Ayes: Alvarez, Farr, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, Wolf

Noes: None Abstain: None

16. Proposed LAFCO Fee schedule to be effective July 1, 2011

After due consideration, upon motion by Alvarez, second by Schlottmann, this matter was continued to the next meeting

Ayes: Alvarez, Farr, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, Wolf

Noes: None Abstain: None

17. Upon motion by Orach, second by Short, the Commission ratified the operating expenses for November and December 2010 and January 2011.

Ayes: Alvarez, Centeno, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, Wolf

Noes: None Abstain: None

- 18. The Commission received and filed the Year-to-Date Financial Status Report.
- 19. Legal Counsel reported a closed session would not be held.
- 20. Commission and staff announcements.

Chair Wolf announced that past Special District Commissioner Larry Wilson had recently passed away.

21. The meeting was adjourned at 4:50 PM in memory of Larry Wilson.

Final Minutes Approved by the Commission on March 3, 2011

By	
<b>,</b>	Janet Wolf, Chair