SANTA BARBARA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING

February 1, 2001

Board of Supervisors Hearing Room Santa Maria CA

- 1. Chair Gail Marshall called the meeting to order at 2:02 p.m. Present were Commissioners Campbell, DeWees, Marshall, Orach, Umenhofer, Urbanske, Alternate Commissioners Fox and Leich, Executive Officer Bob Braitman and Legal Counsel Alan Seltzer.
- 2. Deputy County Clerk Marlene Veatch administered the oath of office to alternate Special District Member Cary Rogers, who assumed her place on the Commission.
- 3. Chair Marshall recognized past Commissioner White for her service on the Commission.
- 4. The January 4, 2001 minutes were approved, with Commissioner Urbanske abstaining.
- 5. Selection of Officers

 Commissioner Campbell was selected as Chair and Commissioner DeWees as Vice Chair, both to serve until February 2002.
- 6. Commissioner Campbell assumed the Chair and expressed appreciation to Commissioner Marshall for her exemplary service as presiding officer during the past year.
- 7. Public Comment Period

Interested citizen Justin Ruhge spoke about government policies in Santa Barbara County and distributed a February 1 letter on "Urban settlements without city management."

8. 99-5 – Martin Farrell Homes Annexation to Mission Hills Community Services District

The staff presented its report and recommendation for a continuance of this matter.

Testimony was provided by developer Jon Martin; John Lewis and Cathy Schlottmann, representing the Mission Hills Community Services District; Heather Baker, representing County Planning and Development, via remote testimony; and interested citizens Charles Blair, Bess Christensen, Joyce House, Dwayne Holmdahl, Justin Ruhge, Ken Taylor, Hal Wahlborg, Lindsay Wahlborg, Jon Picciuolo, Carol Nash, and Ruth Adams.

Written statements dated 2/1/01 were received from Justin Ruhge and Cathy Schlottman.

After due consideration, upon motion by Rogers, second by Marshall, the Commission approved the annexation to the Mission Hills Community Services District as proposed, subject to appropriate findings, with Commissioner Urbanske opposed.

Upon motion by Marshall, second by Rogers, the Commission certified it considered the information contained in the Negative Declaration, conditioned the proposal upon the territory being liable for any indebtedness of the annexing agency and all existing or authorized taxes, charges, fees, or assessments comparable to properties presently within the District, and waived conducting authority proceedings.

Commissioner John Fox arrived during the consideration of this matter and Alternate Commissioner Carey Rogers participated in the consideration and vote.

9. 01-1 – Persoon Annexation to Carpinteria Sanitary District

Upon motion by Orach, second by Marshall, the Commission found the proposal to be categorically exempt, approved the annexation as recommended and waived conducting authority proceedings.

- 10. Deputy County Clerk Marlene Weatch administered the oath of office to Special District Member, John Fox, who assumed his place on the Commission.
- 11. Chair Campbell encouraged all members to attend a CALAFCO-sponsored workshop on March 28 for Commissioners regarding AB 2838.
- 12. The Commission Clerk distributed FPPC forms for Commissioners to complete and return to the LAFCO office, for filing with the County Clerk.
- 13. Presentation regarding legislative changes resulting from AB 2838 (Hertzberg)

The Commission received a presentation from the Executive Officer summarizing changes in LAFCO's enabling statutes effective January 1, 2001.

Chair Campbell appointed ad hoc committees for review and recommendation of aspects for implementing AB2838, with any changes to be considered by the full Commission:

- ad hoc committee on Operations Commissioners Campbell, Orach and Umenhofer
- ad hoc committee on Procedures Commissioners DeWees, Fox and Marshall

- ad hoc committee on Policies Campbell, Umenhofer and Urbanske
- 14. The meeting was adjourned at 6:05 PM.

Next regular LAFCO meeting – March 1 in Santa Barbara

	Final Minutes Approved by the Commission
	On
By_	

