## LAFCO MEMORANDUM

SANTA BARBARA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION
105 East Anapamu Street • Santa Barbara CA 93101 • (805) 568-3391 • Fax (805) 568-2249

September 5, 2019

TO:

Each Member of the Commission

FROM:

Paul Hood TH

**Executive Officer** 

SUBJECT:

Report on Special District Commissioner Elections

This is an Informational Report. No Action is Necessary

#### DISCUSSION

The 60-day voting period for the runoff election between the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes for the Regular Special District Member election, ended on August 5, 2019 at 5:00 pm.

There was a total of 32 eligible independent special districts that filed ballots before the deadline expired.

The August 6, 2019, Notice of Election Results to Special Districts is attached as **Exhibit A**. Votes cast by Special District is attached as **Exhibit B**.

The results are as follows:

Jay Freeman, Isla Vista Community Services District 18 Votes
Judith Ishkanian, Montecito Fire Protection District 14 Votes

By virtue of receiving the majority of the votes cast, Mr. Freeman was elected as a Regular Special District member of the Commission with a term to expire on March 1, 2022.

#### Exhibits:

Exhibit A

August 6, 2019 Notice of Election Results

Exhibit B

Ballot Breakdown by Special District

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions.

# **LAFCO**

### Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission

105 East Anapamu Street ◆ Santa Barbara CA 93101 805/568-3391 ◆ FAX 805/568-2249 www.sblafco.org ◆ lafco@sblafco.org

August 6, 2019

TO:

Santa Barbara County Independent Special Districts

Subject:

Notice of Results of Runoff Election for the Regular Special District Member to

Santa Barbara LAFCO

The deadline for filing election ballots for the Regular Special District Member to Santa Barbara LAFCO ended at 5:00 pm on August 5, 2019. There was a total of 32 eligible independent special districts that filed ballots be the deadline. There was one ballot additional signed ballot that did not indicate the name of the special district that was deemed to be invalid.

The results of the mailed ballot election are attached in Exhibit A.

The results are as follows:

Jay Freeman, Isla Vista Community Services District

18 Votes

Judith Ishkanian, Montecito Fire Protection District

14 Votes

Mr. Freeman is herby deemed to be elected as a Regular Special District member of the Commission with a term to expire on March 1, 2022.

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

PAUL HOOD Executive Officer

Paul Hood

Cc: LAFCO Commissioners

District	Vote
Cachuma Resource Conservation District	Jay Freeman
Carp Cemetery	Jay Freeman
Carp/Summerland Fire	Jay Freeman
Carp Sanitary	Judith Ishkanian
Carp Valley Water	Judith Ishkanian
Casmalia CSD	Jay Freeman
Cuyama Basin Water District	Judith Ishkanian
Cuyama CSD	Jay Freeman
Embarcadero Muni Improvement District	Jay Freeman
Goleta Cemetery District	Judith Ishkanian
Goleta Sanitary District	Judith Ishkanian
Goleta Water	Judith Ishkanian
Goleta West Sanitary	Judith Ishkanian
IV CSD	Jay Freeman
Isla Vista Rec & Park	Jay Freeman
Lompoc Cemetery	Jay Freeman
Lompoc Valley Medical Center	Jay Freeman
Los Alamos CSD	Jay Freeman
Los Alamos Cemetery	Jay Freeman
Mission Hill CSD	Jay Freeman
Montecito Sanitary District	Judith Ishkanian
Montecito Fire	Judith Ishkanian
Montecito Water	Jay Freeman
Mosquito and Vector	Judith Ishkanian
Santa Barbara Met. Transit	Judith Ishkanian
Santa Maria Airport	Judith Ishkanian
Santa Maria Cemetery	Jay Freeman
SM Valley Water Cons.	Jay Freeman
Summerland Sanitary District	Jay Freeman
SY CSD	Judith Ishkanian
SY River Water Cons.	Judith Ishkanian
Vandenberg Village CSD	Jay Freeman
Total	32
Jay Freeman	18
Judith Ishkanian	14